ABOUT FITSPIRIT

FitSpirit is a not-for-profit organization whose mission is to get teenage girls to be physically active throughout their lives. 

With the help of its community of inspiring and committed people, FitSpirit transforms each activity offered to girls into memorable moments. At the heart of a FitSpirit activity, there are always friends, role models and above all, fun!

With this winning combination, the organization has touched the lives of more than 200,000 girls aged 12 to 17 since its founding in 2007.

DID YOU KNOW THAT…

Physical activity before adulthood is essential for a healthy brain? It helps to improve:

  • thinking and learning;
  • regulation of emotions and self-control;
  • the ability to solve problems;
  • Memory;
  • plasticity of the brain;
  • stress management;
  • the ability to cope with anxiety and depressive symptoms;
  • self-esteem and self-confidence;
  • attention and focus.

Unfortunately, surveys continue to show how less active girls are than boys (60 minutes vs. 47 minutes of moderate to vigorous daily physical activity for ages 5 to 17). In addition, the proportion of boys who meet the Canadian recommendation for physical activity is almost double that of girls (47% versus 25%). Very recent Canadian data also shows that girls aged 12 to 17 are more likely than their male counterparts of the same age to present with anxiety, as well as mood and eating disorders. They also more frequently report having difficulty falling asleep (44% vs. 31%).

FITSPIRIT… ACTING FOR THE PSYCHOLOGICAL WELL-BEING OF TEENAGE GIRLS

Since its founding in 2007, FitSpirit's mission has been to help girls aged 12 to 17 to be active for life, since we know how physical activity is a powerful and precious tool for their mental health and their well-being. be psychological. To do this, FitSpirit develops partnerships with schools and, with the help of its community of inspiring and committed people, it transforms each activity offered to girls into memorable moments. At the heart of a FitSpirit activity, there are always friends, role models and above all, fun!

A WINNING COMBINATION

FitSpirit conducts a rigorous process of evaluating its approach in collaboration with various Canadian universities. This evaluation process allows FitSpirit to see the real impact it has on adolescent girls' health:

    At the end of training with FitSpirit…

  • 81% of girls are proud of themselves; 78% motivated to continue to be active; 63% feel good about themselves; 57% full of energy.

    After a year of participation in FitSpirit activities …

  • 85% of the girls got pleasure from it; 76% of the motivation to move.

To learn more, visit fitspirit.ca.

References:

Institut national de santé publique du Québec

ParticipACTION

Statistique Canada

Coalition poids

Contact information

For any question regarding the FitSpirit Mother/Daughter Challenge: challenge@fitspirit.ca or toll free 1-855-430-5322 ext. 121

À PROPOS DE FILLACTIVE

Fillactive est un organisme de bienfaisance dont la mission est d'amener les adolescentes à être actives pour la vie.

Avec l’aide de sa communauté de personnes inspirantes et engagées, Fillactive transforme chaque activité proposée aux filles en moments mémorables. Au cœur d’une activité Fillactive, on trouve toujours des amies, des modèles et surtout du plaisir!

Grâce à cette combinaison gagnante, l’organisme a touché la vie de plus de 200 000 filles de 12 à 17 ans, depuis sa fondation en 2007.

SAVIEZ VOUS QUE…

L’activité physique pratiquée avant l’âge adulte est essentielle à un cerveau en bonne santé? Elle contribue à améliorer :

  • la réflexion et l’apprentissage;
  • la régulation des émotions et la maîtrise de soi;
  • la capacité à résoudre des problèmes;
  • la mémoire;
  • la plasticité du cerveau;
  • la gestion du stress;
  • la capacité à faire face à l’anxiété et aux symptômes dépressifs;
  • l’estime de soi et la confiance en soi;
  • l’attention et la concentration.

Malheureusement, les enquêtes continuent de montrer à quel point les filles sont moins actives que les garçons (60 minutes contre 47 minutes d’activité physique d’intensité moyenne à élevée quotidienne chez les 5 à 17 ans). De plus, la proportion de garçons qui respectent la recommandation canadienne en matière d’activité physique est presque le double de celle des filles (47 % contre 25 %). Des données canadiennes très récentes montrent également que les filles de 12 à 17 ans sont plus nombreuses que leurs collègues masculins du même âge à présenter de l’anxiété ainsi que des troubles de l’humeur et de l’alimentation. Elles rapportent aussi plus fréquemment avoir de la difficulté à s’endormir (44 % contre 31 %).

FILLACTIVE… AGIR POUR LE BIEN-ÊTRE PSYCHOLOGIQUE DES ADOLESCENTES

Depuis sa fondation en 2007, Fillactive a pour mission d’amener les adolescentes de 12 à 17 ans à être actives pour la vie puisque nous savons à quel point l’activité physique est un outil puissant et précieux pour leur santé mentale et leur bien-être psychologique. Pour ce faire, Fillactive développe des partenariats avec les écoles et, avec l’aide de sa communauté de personnes inspirantes et engagées, elle transforme chaque activité proposée aux filles en moments mémorables. Au cœur d’une activité Fillactive, on trouve toujours des amies, des modèles et surtout du plaisir!

UNE COMBINAISON GAGNANTE

Fillactive mène un rigoureux processus d’évaluation de son approche en collaboration avec différentes universités canadiennes. Ce processus d’évaluation permet à Fillactive de voir l’impact réelle qu’elle a sur la santé des adolescentes :

    À la fin des entraînements avec Fillactive…

  • 81 % des filles sont fières d’elles; 78 % motivées à continuer d’être actives; 63 % bien dans leur peau; 57 % pleines d’énergie.

    Après une année de participation aux activités de Fillactive…

  • 85 % des filles ont retiré du plaisir; 76 % de la motivation pour bouger.

Pour en savoir plus, visitez fillactive.ca.


Références :

Institut national de santé publique du Québec

ParticipACTION

Statistique Canada

Coalition poids