Participant’s Guide

Consult the Participant’s Guide to discover the resources at your disposal to help you enjoy the best possible experience on Challenge weekend. 

Private Facebook group link

Join us on the Challenge's private Facebook group! Expert updates, tips and tricks to keep you motivated, important reminders, the ability to share photos or videos… being part of the Challenge’s private group has its advantages!

Training programs

The FitSpirit Mother/Daughter Challenge comprises a 20, 30 or 40 km walk, run or bike ride in teams, over two days. Once you have chosen the distance you would like to complete and how you will complete it, you can follow the corresponding training program. Each eight week long program (from June 21st to August 13th) has been carefully crafted by experts and will help you finish the challenge both safely and with a smile on your face!

Runners:

  • Beginner (for those who plan to run a maximum of 5 km each day for the Challenge).
  • Intermediate/advanced (for those who plan to run more than 5 km each day for the Challenge).

Walkers:

  • For all levels.

Cyclists:

  • For all levels.

We are grateful for the support of The Running Clinic and Isabelle Gagnon, kinesiologist, for designing these training programs.

Weekly missions

Over the eight weeks of training leading into the event, we will give you a mission that may admittedly be silly (but always fun) to complete.

Free personal accompaniment and support

We have a kinesiologist and a nutritionist on hand to answer all your questions, confidentially, by email, throughout the training. Please feel free to contact them!

  • Valentina Gancia-Godoy is a nutritionist who is passionate about sports and eating well. Write to her for all your questions on nutrition: nutrition@fitspirit.ca.
  • Kathy Landry is a kinesiologist who is available to offer advice tailored to your needs on staying active for fun, safely and efficiently. You can write to her at any time: kin@fitspirit.ca.

Video tips from the experts

To help you during your training, check out our private Facebook group for weekly short videos created by five renowned sports experts from a variety of fields.

  • Cycling:
    Simone Boilard, Student and avid road cyclist
    A cycling enthusiast from a very young age, Simone eventually rode her way to a podium position at the World Junior Championships in Austria in 2018. Following an injury, Simone has been in recovery for the past two years, but she is convinced that the Challenge will motivate her more than any medal ever could. In addition to her career as a cyclist, she loves all sports, challenges, nature, cooking, a good book and the many precious moments she spends with her family!

  • Running: 
    Natacha Gagné, Kinesiologist and Teacher of Physical Education and Health
    Founder of the Grand club de course (running club for kids) in Quebec City, Natacha designs hundreds of training programs for people of all fitness levels every year. She is also the author and co-author of several physical activity books for people of every age, a regular sports columnist for the Journal de Québec and a speaker and trainer at The Running Clinic.

    Anne Bouchard, Corporate Tax Director at Innergex and trail-running athlete
    For Anne, trail running is a way of life, one that gives her the daily energy she needs to succeed. As a member of The North Face Canadian athletic team, Anne competes in both local and international running events and loves to share her values of solidarity and cooperation through her running community.

  • Nutrition:
    Valentina Gancia-Godoy, Dt.P, Nutritionist
    Valentina’s goal in life is to motivate as many people as possible to be physically active and eat well! A specialized sports nutritionist, she works with a very active clientele, giving them the advice and support they need to adopt healthy eating habits that foster a love of food.

  • Motivation:   
    Isabelle Doré, Ph. D. Professor at the Université de Montréal and Researcher at the CRCHUM
    Isabelle’s academic work focuses on physical activity as a strategy for promoting mental health and reducing the risk of anxiety and depressive disorders. Her research interests focus on teens and young adults, people with cancer, transplant recipients and those with suppressed immune systems.

We want you to keep us posted!

Share your ups and downs during training and your weekly missions by regularly submitting photos or videos to the Challenge’s private Facebook group. If you don’t have a Facebook account, you can send your photos and videos to challenge@fitspirit.ca. A video made up of all the photos and footage you share will be produced to commemorate the entire experience… a great way to remember and look back on your mother-daughter adventure!

Fundraising

FitSpirit Mother/Daughter Challenge registration is free. Instead, we encourage teams to raise funds for FitSpirit, a not-for-profit organization with a mission to get teenage girls to stay physically active for life. The goal of the event is to raise $300,000. Below is a toolbox to help you with fundraising.

Teams that choose not to fundraise can decide to do so at a later time. Simply log in to your team’s profile using your access code. To make a donation, even when there is no objective, simply click the “Donate” button on your profile page.

Toolbox

Guide to support your fundraising
Letter template for your fundraising
Participant's Guide
Template for Challenge Bib 

 

Contact information

For any question regarding the FitSpirit Mother/Daughter Challenge: challenge@fitspirit.ca or toll free 1-855-430-5322 ext. 121

Guide de la participante

Pour connaître toutes les ressources disponibles qui vous permettront de vivre la meilleure expérience possible lors de la fin de semaine du Défi, consultez le Guide de la participante

Lien vers le groupe Facebook privé du Défi

Rejoignez-nous sur le groupe Facebook privé du Défi pour partager vos photos ou vidéos, avoir accès à des capsules d’expertes, des trucs et astuces motivants, des rappels importants et plus encore! Faire partie du groupe privé du Défi présente plusieurs avantages! 

Programmes d’entraînement

Le Défi Mère/Fillactive consiste à courir, à marcher ou à rouler un total de 20, 30 ou 40 km en équipe, en deux jours. Une fois que vous avez choisi votre activité et votre distance, choisissez le programme d’entraînement approprié. Chacun des programmes d'une durée de huit semaines (21 juin au 13 août) a été soigneusement préparé par des experts et vous aidera à réaliser votre défi en toute sécurité, le sourire aux lèvres!

Coureuses :

  • Débutant (pour celles qui prévoient courir 5 km par jour au maximum lors du Défi). 
  • Intermédiaire/avancé (pour celles qui prévoient courir plus de 5 km par jour lors du Défi). 

Marcheuses :

  • Pour tous les niveaux.

Cyclistes :

  • Pour tous les niveaux.

Nous sommes privilégiées de pouvoir compter sur le soutien de La Clinique Du Coureur et d'Isabelle Gagnon, kinésiologue, pour la conception de ces programmes!

Missions hebdomadaires

Tout au long des huit semaines d’entraînement, nous vous proposerons chaque semaine de remplir une mission parfois loufoque, mais toujours amusante.

Accompagnement gratuit à votre portée

Une kinésiologue et une nutritionniste sont là pour répondre à vos questions de façon confidentielle par courriel tout au long de l’aventure. N’hésitez pas à leur écrire!

  • Valentina Gancia-Godoy, nutritionniste et passionnée d’activité physique et d’alimentation, peut répondre à toutes vos questions à propos de la nutrition : nutrition@fillactive.ca.
  • Kathy Landry, kinésiologue, est disponible pour vous donner des conseils adaptés à vos besoins afin de bouger dans le plaisir et de façon efficace et sécuritaire. N’hésitez pas à lui poser vos questions à : kin@fillactive.ca.

Capsules vidéo d'expertes

Pour bien vous accompagner dans votre entraînement, nous vous partagerons sur le groupe Facebook privé du Défi de petites vidéos tournées par cinq spécialistes expertes et reconnues dans leur domaine, et ce, toutes les semaines.

  • Vélo :
    Simone Boilard, étudiante et athlète en cyclisme sur route
    Cycliste sur route depuis son tout jeune âge, Simone s'est notamment démarquée en cyclisme avec un podium aux championnats du monde junior en Autriche en 2018. Blessée depuis deux ans, elle est convaincue que ce chapitre la fera grandir bien plus que n'importe quelle médaille. En plus de sa carrière d'athlète en cyclisme, elle adore le sport, les défis, la nature, la cuisine, les bonnes lectures et tous les moments passés en famille!

  • Course à pied :
    Natacha Gagné, kinésiologue et enseignante en éducation physique et à la santé
    Instigatrice du GRAND club de course pour enfants au Québec, Natacha conçoit des centaines de programmes d'entraînement par année pour des gens de tous les niveaux de condition physique et est auteure/co-auteure de livres d'activité physique tant pour les jeunes que pour les moins jeunes. Elle agit également comme chroniqueuse sportive au Journal de Québec et conférencière et formatrice pour La Clinique Du Coureur.

    Anne Bouchard, directrice fiscalité corporative – Innergex et athlète de course en sentier
    Pour Anne, la course en sentier fait partie de son mode de vie et lui procure toute l’énergie quotidienne dont elle a besoin. En tant que membre de l'équipe canadienne d'athlètes The North Face, elle participe à des épreuves de course à pied tant locales qu'internationales et aspire à partager des valeurs de solidarité et d'entraide dans la communauté des coureurs.

  • Nutrition :
    Valentina Gancia-Godoy, Dt.P nutritionniste
    Valentina a pour mission de motiver le plus de gens possible à bouger et à bien manger! Nutritionniste spécialisée dans le sport, elle travaille auprès d'une clientèle active et donne à celles-ci les meilleurs conseils pour adopter de saines habitudes alimentaires, tout en favorisant le plaisir de manger.

  • Motivation :
    Isabelle Doré, Ph. D. Professeure, Université de Montréal, Chercheure, CRCHUM Professeure et chercheure, les travaux de recherche d’Isabelle portent sur l’activité physique comme stratégie pour promouvoir la santé mentale et réduire le risque de troubles anxieux et dépressifs. Ses recherches s’intéressent principalement aux adolescents et jeunes adultes de la population générale, les personnes ayant reçu un diagnostic de cancer et les populations greffées et immunosupprimées.

On veut vous voir!

Partagez les hauts et les bas de votre entraînement et des images de votre mission hebdomadaire en soumettant régulièrement des photos ou des vidéos dans le groupe Facebook privé du Défi. Si vous n’avez pas de compte Facebook, faites parvenir vos photos et vos vidéos à defi@fillactive.ca. Une vidéo souvenir sera produite à partir de tous ces merveilleux moments. Quelle belle façon de se remémorer cette grande aventure entre mères et filles!

Collecte de fonds

L’inscription au Défi Mère/Fillactive est gratuite. Toutefois, nous encourageons les équipes qui le souhaitent à entreprendre une collecte de fonds au profit de Fillactive, un organisme de bienfaisance dont la mission est d’amener les adolescentes à être actives pour la vie. L’objectif de cette collecte est de 300 000 $. Vous trouverez ci-dessous une boîte à outils pour vous aider dans votre collecte de fonds. 

Merci aux équipes qui ont choisi d’amasser des fonds dans le cadre du Défi Mère/Fillactive. Tous les dons contribuent à amener des milliers d'adolescentes à être actives pour la vie.

Pssst, toutes les équipes qui amasseront plus de 250 $ courent la chance de gagner un imperméable The North Face!

Les équipes qui ont choisi de ne pas faire de collecte de fonds peuvent changer d’idée en tout temps. Le cas échéant, simplement modifier le profil de votre équipe en vous connectant avec votre code d’accès. Il est toujours possible de faire un don, même sans objectif de collecte, simplement sélectionnez le bouton « Faites un don » disponible sur la page de votre profil.

Merci pour vos actions!

Boîte à outils

Trucs pour réussir votre collecte de fonds
Modèle de lettre pour votre collecte de fonds
Guide de la participante 

Tutoriels

Inscription d'une équipe
Inscription d'une participante
Gestion d'un profil d'équipe
Gestion d'un profil participante

Nous joindre

Pour toute question en lien avec le Défi Mère/Fillactive :
defi@fillactive.ca
ou sans frais 1 855 430-5322 poste 121